the multiple joy[ce] orchestra

The Multiple Joy[ce] Orchestra grew out of the James Choice Orchestra, which
a collective of composers founded in 2004 to present their own works. Four years
later three of these composers - Frank Gratkowski, Carl Ludwig Hübsch and
Matthias Schubert - restructured the group to allow additional possibilities,
such as collaborations with guest soloists and commissioning works from guest
composers. The new group retains the original orchestra`s focus on combining
composition and improvisation within a large-scale ensemble.

The orchestra includes more than twenty musicians who live in the Cologne
region. These musicians, all of whom are refined improvisers as well as
skilled in traditional music fundamentals, come from such disciplines as
jazz, classical music, New Music, experimental music, and free improvisation.

What can we do as an orchestra that we couldn`t if we were a smaller group?
The idea is to explore sheer immensity of sound and range of expression,
drawing on the creativity of many players, sometimes collectively, sometimes
in layers. All of the orchestra`s compositions are written with its members`
special abilities in mind, a contrast with traditional orchestral
compositions that are written for generic players. As such the ensemble`s
individual members become an important part of each composition. The music
takes its final shape from the interaction of the players` decisions and
predetermined composed material.

This deep interrelationship distinguishes the orchestra from traditional
large ensembles, such as symphonic orchestras or jazz big bands, that view
their players as cogs in a totalizing mechanism. In the Multiple Joy[ce]
Orchestra musicians are valued as part of a living organism that thrives in
a flexible environment, self-sufficient yet able to interact spontaneously,
transforming and enriching musical concepts.


Frank Gratkowski - as, cl
Carl Ludwig Hübsch - tu
Matthias Schubert - ts, ob

Angelika Sheridan - fl
Holger Werner - cl, bcl
Anette Maye- cl, bcl
Leonhard Huhn - sax
Thomas Heberer - tpt
Matthias Mainz - tpt
Udo Moll - tpt
Matthias Muche - tbn
Nicolao Valiensi - tbn
Melvyn Poore - tu
Barbara Schachtner - voc
Isis Krüger - voice
Philip Zoubek - p
Kathrin Pechlof - harp
Scott Fields - git
Thomas Lehn - analogue synthesizer
Axel Lindner - vio
Radek Stawarz - vio
Vincent Royer - vla
Nora Krahl - vc
Elisabeth Fügemann - vc
Sue Schlotte - vc
Sebastian Gramss - cb
Dieter Manderscheid - cb
Constantin Herzog - cb
Christian Thomé - perc
Dirk Rothbrust - perc